Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

My First Ramadan As A Wife

Today marks the 15th day of Ramadan. In the past two weeks, I’ve been trying my best what my mother and my late granny has done for the family, prepare meals for sahoor and iftar for the family.

My mum and granny would always be the first ones up, heat up the left overs from the previous day’s iftar and dinner, so that everyone can have a hot meal in the morning. Dude and my in-laws are not so much into eating rice, or eating all that much in the morning, so I prepare overnight oats with chia seeds the night before for them. But I’m one of those people who need savoury things at all meals, so I tend to heat up the left overs for myself.

Iftar is usually not as grand as it is at my mother’s house. We have whatever that Dude’s granny has made for dinner, or the left overs in the fridge. I’ve been feeling the urge to cook a lot and I’ve been experimenting with ingredients. I’ve made spring rolls, pulled beef (mostly done by Dude), pot stickers and bread pudding with salted caramel sauce. I’ve also been frying up things in the air fryer, just to break the monotony of rice and side dishes.

This Ramadan has made me realise that I can feed my family with my cooking. The food won’t be traditional Malay food but it’ll be as healthy and as delicious as I can make it. I still need a lot more practice with my cooking but I’m getting better. I do miss my mother’s cooking a lot but I’ve decided that if I want to eat something, I should learn it because no one is going to cook it for me the way I want it.

I’m hoping that the rest of Ramadan will be just as great as it’s been so far.  Ramadan mubarak to all.

Comments are closed.