Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

3 weeks in

image

It was hard moving out of my parents’ house. I’m leaving behind the home I’ve always known, my comfort zone and the company of my blood relatives, into a different house, with people I meet at most a couple of times a week, before the wedding. It was a change to sleep in a bigger bed and share it with some one. It was strange to have 2 cats under feet most of the time and most of all, getting used to the new bathroom schedules.

I realised how pampered I was; having breakfast already prepared by the time I’m showered and dressed, the laundry done for me, there were fresh bedsheets on the bed weekly. Now I’m the one doing the laundry, the breakfast and the sheets. It’s a learning experience that I’m hoping that I’ll be better at and be able to do it faster.

Other than living together, our relationship remains the same. When it’s just the two of us, it still feels like when we’re dating. Maybe that’s the whole point. Marriage isn’t supposed to change your relationship.

We go home to the same house. He’s the first person I see when I wake up, and the last person I see before I sleep. I’m learning more about him, his habits, his likes and dislikes, and I hope that he’s doing the same thing with me.

We’ll be moving to our own home soon and I’m looking forward to that. That’ll be the next step of our relationship too.

I should also write about the wedding and the honeymoon, at some point.

Comments are closed.