Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Am I ready for the next step?

When I was younger, I wanted to get married and have a family right out of school. It was a good thing that didn’t happen because I would have missed out on a lot of things that I got to do as a an unmarried young woman.

I had gotten close to getting married once but it didn’t work out, which was the best thing for the both of us.

Now that I’m older, presumably more mature, going down that route again seems like a natural progression. I thought I was ready but as plans get more concrete, I’m having second thoughts.

Sapphire Diamonds

Not real engagement rings. I was just testing them out



Weddings are expensive, so expensive sometimes that it puts some people into debt, even before they’ve even started their lives together. A ‘simple’ Malay wedding at the void deck of HDB flats can set the bride/groom back by at least SGD15,000; that includes food, decor and other miscellaneous wedding related things.

That’s just the wedding itself; housing is another matter. Most Singaporeans only move out of their parents homes, after they’re married and sometimes, after a child or two. The prices of a small, three bedroom apartments can go up to SGD500,000 and you’ll be locked in housing loan for the rest of your life. You don’t even own the apartments since they’re on a 99 year lease from the government.

It’s pretty scary when the next stage of your life may put you in debt for the rest of your life. And that’s even before the children, if they plan to have any (furry or not). Being an adult, leaving the nest, planning a wedding, looking it houses… Am I ready for that?

I don’t know, but I won’t know if I’m ready for anything until I try. Sink or swim, right?

Comments are closed.