Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion, the one where I have a lot of feels

Warm bodies by Isaac Marion

Not like Twilight at all


By now, almost everyone would have at least heard of the movie the book is based on. As mentioned before, I love zombie movies and when I discovered that it was based on a book, I had to read the original work first before watching it.

Here’s a summary from the book jacket:

‘R’ is a zombie. He has no name, no memories, and no pulse, but he has dreams. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Amongst the ruins of an abandoned city, R meets a girl. Her name is Julie and she is the opposite of everything he knows – warm and bright and very much alive, she is a blast of colour in a dreary grey landscape. For reasons he can’t understand, R chooses to save Julie instead of eating her, and a tense yet strangely tender relationship begins.

This has never happened before. It breaks the rules and defies logic, but R is no longer content with life in the grave. He wants to breathe again, he wants to live, and Julie wants to help him. But their grim, rotting world won’t be changed without a fight…

I finished the book this morning and I’m still trying to process how I feel about it.

It was a difficult book to pick up initially as I was in the midst of reading Tuf Voyaging by George R. R. Martin, a good science fiction book that I couldn’t put down; and I’m not even a big sci-fi reader. But that is a totally different story.

Anyway, Warm Bodies only grabbed me by the short hairs from the second chapter onwards, where we meet ‘R’ and the we’re introduced to the Dead way of life. The story is told in first person, from R’s point of view and we see what goes on in the mind of a zombie. It made me think about the different zombie movies I’ve watched over the years and made me wonder if the zombies in those movies do have the mental acuity left in their dead, decomposing bodies to understand what they’re doing.

R’s meeting with Julie and their subsequent relationship pulled at my heartstrings. It’s different from any other ‘romantic’ relationships I’ve read about in books. It was slow, gentle, gradual and very believable. If the world did end in a zombie apocalypse and if a human and a zombie fell in love, it would be just like this.

Finishing the book this morning, it left me feeling happy, sad and hopeful, all rolled up in a ball that’s stuck in my chest. Even if the world ended, there’s still things to love, to love and to be happy for (shameless promo of my own book).

I’m definitely going to watch the movie, even though I’ve been told that half of the movie is different from the book. I’d love to see how they translate what R is thinking onto the big screen.

I recommend this book if you love romance and horror.

Comments are closed.