Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

No ‘poo’ shampoo?

At the recent Handmade Movement fair, I attended the Detoxify Your Skincare workshop and that renewed my interest in looking/making preservative-free, natural skincare products, like bath scrubs, toners and face masks. During the class, the demonstrator was talking about the No Poo method, where instead of using shampoo, you use alternatives like baking soda instead.

Now, that got my attention. I’ve been using baking soda as a facial scrub (as long as it’s not the double action baking soda; that’s a whole other different matter) for a while and I’ve used baking soda as a clarifying wash. I didn’t know that baking soda can be used as shampoo too. One of the things that I learnt in that workshop was that regular shampoo strips the natural oils from your hair and scalp, so your scalp produces even more to compensate for that. Also, all that chemicals that you’re slathering all over your body may not be very good for you.

Anyway, I’ve been using baking soda to ‘shampoo’ my hair the past couple of days and letting the natural oils to build up a little. It feels little greasy but my hair didn’t have the usual frizzy, crispy feel to it after I’ve been in the pool for a while. In fact, it was nice and soft, as if I’d just used conditioner on it.

I’m also trying not to shampoo as often but in our local weather, it may not be easy.

So I bought this:

Batiste Dry Shampoo

Batiste Dry Shampoo

This brand of dry shampoo seems to be highly recommended by those who dry shampoo. It’s relatively cheap too. This can of 50ml costs SGD3.90 at Watsons. The bigger can costs SGD12.90. From what I gather online, Sephora brings in other brands of dry shampoo but it’s much costlier than this.

I’ve not tried it yet but it seems simple enough to use. If it works the way I want it too, I might just get the bigger can.

The next time I shampoo my hair with baking soda, I’m going to use the diluted vinegar wash too, just to see if it makes a difference.

If you’re interested on reading up on how to make your own skincare/beauty stuff, head on down to Little Green Dot and Crunchy Betty. Little Green Dot is a website run by the co-founder of Green Living, the wonderful people who ran the skincare workshop I attended.

Do let me know if you’ve tried any of the DIY beauty stuff.

Comments are closed.