Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Almost A Decade Later

I’m still into my first job and I just signed another three-year contract with the company. I think that for most people, they would have had at least two different jobs in those ten years. I’m still here.

One of the main reasons I’ve not left is mainly due to not wanting to get out of my comfort zone. I’ve been sitting at this exact desk, working at the exact same lab bench for the last nine years. Every thing is where I want it to be and I know where everything is.

That doesn’t mean that I’ve been doing the exact same thing in the last almost decade. I’m currently on my third boss, since they seem to leave every couple of years. As these principle investigators have different research scopes or areas of interest, I’ve been involved in many different kinds of research, different technology platforms and best of all, I had the chance to learn a number of different techniques that I’ve never heard of before or something that I’ve only read in research papers.

It’s not so bad actually.

Though, I don’t know if I’ll still be here at the end of this new contract. The main reason for me to sign a new one is so that I will at least have a job to return to when I’m done with my short sabbatical to complete my Masters research project. With the way that the scientific job market looks like, I needed the job security net.

Once I’ve graduated, if an opportunity presents itself for me to move to a different area of science (with better pay, perks and not so bad a work load *well, I can dream right?*), I might move there but in the mean time, I’ll stay where I am and make the best of it.

Comments are closed.