Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Drowning In Plant Science

Last night, I went for my first class of the semester. I had to choose between Seminars in Zoology or Advanced Plant Physiology as an elective. I decided to go with the plants module since the other was very heavy for an elective and even my supervisor had advised against it.

Plants have never been something that I enjoyed learning, personally, because the cross section of a plant looks creepy and disgusting under the microscope, but moving on.

Yesterday’s class was done by a guest professor who flew all the way from Lancaster to give us the lecture. I’ve had a class with him in before in a previous module and he is superbly passionate with his work. Unfortunately because of his passion, he rarely takes breaks between each slides, so that made it difficult for me at least to take down as much notes as I wanted.


I felt like I was drowning in information. It was a very information dense class. There was one point in the class where I was just staring at him, watching his mouth move in words that I knew were in English but my brain just could not process what he was saying. I’ve never felt so out of my depth before.

He went through three different lectures and towards the end, he was explaining what each of the different graphs mean. He lost me there. I’m just so very thankful that he included the references for the papers where those information came from, so at the very least, I could read those papers on my own and see if they make sense to me.

Since the guest professor will only be in town for a couple of days, we’ll be having another intensive day tomorrow. A Satuday day, for most of the day. Sigh.

I’m really hoping that I won’t be as lost as I was yesterday. We’ll be in the lab the entire time and we’ll be doing both a lecture and a practical, with new equipment that I’ve never used before. This could get very interesting.

That was just the first day of the semester. I really, really, really hope that the rest of the semester won’t be as intimidating.

Comments are closed.