Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.


School Observations

I’m in school today, preparing some stuff for my experiments next week. Due to my day job I don’t normal come down to campus in the day and encounter the full-time students here. It’s a different kind of experience.

As I sat down, having lunch, i noticed that school life here on campus isn’t so different to when I was in school a decade ago. Students laughing in groups, eating, discussing school work and non-school related things.

The only difference now is that the students range from at most, a decade younger than me and at least a decade older than me. As the school I chose to do my graduate studies is also where they train would be teachers, it is also where they re-train teachers who have already been teaching for many, many years, so sometimes, I can’t tell the difference between the students and the staff.

Anyway, the point is that, despite me being older and that I’m also a working adult, it’s somewhat comforting to know that student life hasn’t changed that much. Curriculum may change, the way subjects are taught may change and especially approved school attire may change, but one thing for sure, school is where people gather, make friends and interact with each other. No matter the age of the student.

Note: This post is written after I drank a relatively large cup of relatively strong coffee. If it’s incoherent, I blame the rambling on the caffeine.