Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

What NaNoWriMo Has Done For Me

It’s the start of October and as always, I start planning and plotting for what I’m going to write for this year’s NaNoWriMo. While I revel in the high of writing, trying to squeeze some hours of writing when I can and trying to purge the story I have in my head, I never once talked about the good things that NaNoWriMo has given me.

NaNoWriMo was the first event that I went where I got to meet people whom I met online. I’d always thought that writing was a solo thing and that there weren’t people out there who are like me. I was pleasantly surprised that I was wrong and there they were, spouting quotes from Monty Python, Terry Pratchett and internet memes. For once I could talk about something and not get blank looks.


I met people with similar interests, similar sense of humour and it was liberating to finally be able to be myself without hiding the part of me that loves books, stories and movies.

NaNoWriMo gave me a chance to be part of a writing group. I got a story published and was party of a group effort in publishing a novel.

If it weren’t for this annual thing, I wouldn’t have met the wonderful friends I have now and through them, I met so many more awesome people. If it weren’t for them, I wouldn’t have discovered things that I love doing (even though I don’t have much time for them anymore), things that made me discover who I really am and to not give a fuck about what others think of me.

So yeah, NaNoWriMo is awesome. Not everyone understands why I love it but to each their own.

Comments are closed.