Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Celebrating My 30th Birthday In Style

Or not.

cake

Last Friday, I talked about my feelings about turning 30. I didn’t really get to celebrate all that much on Friday since I was at work but my colleagues were really sweet and someone had gone out during lunch to get me a double chocolate cake.

I’m not much of a birthday cake person since I’ve always associated birthday cakes being smothered in sweet cream stuff which I hate, so I took to not eating cake until quite recently when I discovered, hey, not all cakes are like that. Anyway, I got a candle to blow out and everyone sang the birthday song for me. The beer party at work didn’t hurt either, even though I don’t drink.

My sisters decided that pizza and soda were needed to celebrate my birthday at home and that’s what we had for dinner, while screaming at the TV during the rugby game.

Anyway, it wasn’t until the weekend that I got to celebrate my birthday properly. The way I want to, by spending it with Dude.


I met Dude for lunch at Charco’s Clementi. I had it once before when it was still at Ang Mo Kio and remember how good the food was. However, the lunch we had (ribs roast and a side of 2 salads) was frankly disappointing. The ribs were tough and cold, instead of tender and hot. The Chicken Avocado Salad didn’t even have any avocado in it. Both of us agreed that weren’t going to go back there again.

Then we drove to West Coast Park to see if we could fly our kite but sadly, the air was still and so we decided to take a walk instead and talked. There was this little body of water that I’m assuming was a mangrove area in the park that was like a little nature reserve thing. While we stood there, we saw a waterhen and a collared kingfisher.

As we walked through out the park, we saw black-naped orioles, olive-backed sunbirds and a lot of squirrels. We even saw tiny mud skippers on the sides of the drains too. Who knew that just a small park like that could have such a diverse variety of animals, if you paid attention.

When we’re walked enough, we ended up at the McCafe nearby to cool down.

flat white

I had my first cup of coffee of the week and then promptly got my ass kicked at Monopoly Deal. It’s a rarity that I lose 5 games in a row and Dude was so damn smug at the fact that he didn’t even need to strategise to win. He just kept insisting that the cards wanted him to win, to which I say bullshit but that could just be me being a sore loser.

Since it was still too early for dinner, we drove down to another park near my house. Admiralty Park was a place that I’ve only been to a couple of times just to eat at the Sakura International Buffet, but never to wander around. I was glad that Dude was open to the idea of walking around the park trails even though we were both not dressed for a hike.

walking

The weather was wonderful as it had rained earlier, so while the ground was a little wet and muddy, the air was cool and not very humid. There were a number of people already in the park, jogging, cycling or just walking around like us. Even though there was a clear sign that said no fishing was allowed in the area, there were a couple of people with their fish hooks in the water, hoping for a bite.

As Dude and I walked further up the trail, we saw less people and a lot more trees, squirrels and even monkeys. We saw a sign that said that there was a mangrove area and so we went to look for it. It took us about half an hour of slow walking through the trails, under the canopy before we got to the mangrove area. We were lucky that it was low tide and we saw more than a couple of giant mudskippers and another waterhen. I saw more animals that day than I’ve had in the last couple of months combined. It was fun.

Being on the trail and under the canopy, it felt like I was in a different place and the scent in the air was a lot like being back in my dad’s home town, away from the city, when in truth, it was less than a kilometre from the main road. I never knew that such a place existed so near my home and I’m definitely going to make a point to go back again sometime.

canal

As the sun was setting and it was getting dark, we made our way out of the park and to the nearby Botak’s Favourites for dinner. I had a really fun day even though I was hungry, I couldn’t eat much, so we finished what we could and we packed the rest.

dinner

The next day, we tried to see if we could fly our kites again, this time at Jurong Central Park. We managed to get the kite up for a little bit but there just wasn’t enough breeze to hold it up. Even the other people who were there to fly their kites were left waiting for the breeze to pick up again.

After a couple more tries, we gave up and decided to go for lunch instead. Of course the breeze decided to pick up after we had lunch and by then were we just too full to unpack the kites again.

kiting

As we were leaving the park, I saw a lady with two tiny dogs. She had unleashed the dogs so that they could run around, I guess but unfortunately, one of the dogs decided to chase after a boy no older than four. The poor kid was screaming and trying to run away and the dad was trying to kick the dog away. The dog owner finally managed to catch the dog and leashed it again. That was the most exciting bit at the park.

Over all, I had a really great birthday weekend. I got some wonderful presents and I hope that next year would be just as great or better.

Comments are closed.