Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Preview Screening of ‘Game Of Thrones’

GoT banner

Last week, I had the privilege of attending a preview for the latest show that HBOAsia is bringing in, the Game of Thrones. The event was held at ION Sky. This was the first time that I’d been able to attend an invite as I’ve always had classes during the last few events.

Anyway, I discovered that more than a few of my friends were also invited to attend the event. Dude came along as well as I was shameless enough to ask if I could bring a guest as I thought that he might enjoy the show. I met Sarah, Joelyn and Raven at { prologue } bookstore before the start of the event. After a couple of minutes of book browsing, Joelyn and Raven bid us goodbye and headed to the lounge where the event was held for cocktails, while Sarah, Dude and I met with Atiqah, the lovely young lady who invited us for the event.

We were told that since the canapés that were provided at the event were not halal, they had made arrangements for those of us who were going to break our fast. We met her at Meatworks and were informed that while the restaurant is certified halal, it’s not shown anywhere as the diners are allowed to bring their own bottle of wine or liquor, if they so choose.

lamb rack

Dinner was a most wonderful affair. The food was good and even Dude, who has exacting standards for steaks, said the food was wonderful. Once everyone had eaten, we headed up to the lounge to attend the preview.


Before that, we had to put on our tags to show that we were not gate-crashing the party.

hbo tags

The lounge was at the 55th floor of ION. I didn’t even know that the floors went up that high. When we arrived at the event area, it was like a disco, with strobe lights, drinks and music. I think Sarah said it best when she described it as, “A geek prom.” I met the guys from HereBeGeeks: Peter(@prodigialgeek), Alvin(@direcow) and Wailong(@kakitaraisho), Red Dot Diva(@syzzlyn) and Clicktokill(@clicktokill).

The wonderful people at HBOAsia actually made a replica of the Iron Throne from the series, where we could sit down and take pictures. They had a professional photographer who would take our pictures and print them out and give it back to us, in between two pieces of magnetic acrylic, like a paperweight thingy.

GoT like a boss

Yes, that’s me, sitting on the throne. Like a boss.

At around 8.30pm, everyone was seated and they played the first episode of the series. I didn’t know what to expect really as I’ve never read the books. It was brutal, bloody and gratuitous naked side boob shots. I loved it! The gratuitous violence and the amount of blood that was shed in just that first episode would slake anyone’s bloodthirst. It was most awesome! The episode ended too soon and with a cliff hanger that made me go, “WHAT?! THAT’S IT?! I WANT MORE!!!”

I seriously cannot wait for the next episode of the show.

We mingled a little bit more and took a more pictures but as it was getting late (and I had an early morning meeting the next day), we left. As we exited, we were handed swag bags that had a number of things that I really, really like. There was a foldable bag, that I’ve yet to unzip, a set of leather bookmarks with the crest of each House in the series imprinted into it, and a sword-shaped letter opener that came with its on sheath and stand.

swag 1swag 2swag 3

The blade had the title of the series etched into it too.

GoT sword

It’s one of the most interesting things I’ve ever gotten.

Anyway, I would say that if you like high fantasy, violence, sword-fights and sex, this is the show for you. It’s like an unsanitised version of Lord of The Rings.

Here’s a trailer for the show if you’ve not seen it yet.

I had a really great time at the event and I thoroughly enjoyed the show too. Thank you Atiqah, HBOAsia and their team for inviting me to this event. I can’t wait for the rest of the series.

Game of Thrones will premier on HBO on the 28th of August, 10pm. Watch it!

Comments are closed.