Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Friday Foods: Omelette The Way I Like It

kat's omelette with trumpet mushrooms, guanciale, and aioli at sante charcuterie
Photo bykthread

Eggs are one of the most versatile food stuff. There are so many uses for it and you can even have it on it’s own. One of my most favourite egg related food item are omelettes. You can do so much with it and the best of all, you can have it as a meal at any time of the day.

Omelettes are a must have breakfast item for me when I go for a holiday and when the urge strikes me, I even make it at home.

Ingredients
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 of a small onion, diced minutely
1 cup of fresh mushrooms, sliced into bite-sized pieces
1/2 cup grated cheese
2 slices of ham, sliced
1 tbs butter

Heat the butter in a non-stick pan until it’s melted. Throw in the onion, ham slices and the mushroom. When the mushrooms and onions are soft, add in the egg.

Swirl the egg around to cover the pan. Mix the mushroom around in the egg before it starts to set to get all the mushroom covered with eggy goodness.

Let it set a little and dump in the cheese over the egg.

When the bottom omelette is all set, carefully fold it in half and continue cooking until the omelette is cooked through.

Serve with mash, sausage or my favourite, baked beans.

Note: I love using fresh mushrooms because the taste is totally different from the canned ones. I prefer using button, Swiss brown and portobello mushrooms for omelettes but you can put in any type of mushroom that you like.

I typically use chicken ham or turkey bacon due to the fact that I don’t take pork.

As for the cheese, I like cheddar mixed with edam but you can put in any type of cheese that your heart desires.

Comments are closed.