Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

And So, An Era Of Harry Potter Comes To An End

I was twenty when the first Harry Potter movie, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, came out in the cinemas and I went to watch it. That was a decade ago and yesterday, I went to watch the last instalment of the Harry Potter movies.

harry DH

I’d always had the policy of reading a book first before watching the movie and that was the main reason for me to pick up Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone, so that I can tell which parts were changed or omitted from the movie. Philosopher’s Stone led me to Chamber of Secrets, Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire. I read the first four books of the series in under a month. I never thought that as an adult, I would have been obsessed with a book series geared towards kids but I was. There was just something about the world of Harry Potter that just drew you in and wouldn’t let you go.

Over the next ten years since that first movie, I would spend many hours reading and re-reading the books, placing my pre-orders for Order of the Phoenix, Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows and reading the books in one sitting, missing meals and refusing to interact with anyone until the books were done.

In fact, it was this Harry Potter obsession that got me into blogging in the first place.


The anticipation of getting the latest Harry Potter book or waiting to watch the latest Harry Potter movie is something I can’t describe to someone who isn’t a Harry Potter fan. The feeling of being a part of a group of people who love everything about the books, the story, the world that J.K. Rowling built for us, is just amazing. So I know that I won’t be the only one who’s privately mourning the end of a wonderful series.

Truth be told, I had mixed feelings about watching Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows Pt 2. I was excited, of course, as it’s a Harry Potter movie but at the same time, sad as it’s the last one. The whole world saw Daniel Radclife, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint grew from the cute little kids they were, into the beautiful adults that they are now.

What no one expected was how much Matthew Lewis would change in the ten years since they casted him as the chubby, clumsy, yet brave Neville Longbottom.

neville longbottom chamber of secrets

That kid got hot!

neville DH

The movies are like a sacred thing for me and I refuse to let anyone get in the way of me enjoying them. Prisoner of Azkaban (or what should have been called, the movie where Hermione Granger took centre stage because she looked good in a tight, pink sweater) was my least favourite movie (and book) out of the entire series and yet, I watched it twice and I told a boy who looked no more than ten, to shut to fuck up (rather loudly) because he just wouldn’t shut up with the comments throughout the enter movie. Yes, I can be that mean to little kids if they don’t keep quiet while I’m watching Harry Potter.

Anyway, when Deathly Hallows ended, I felt like I’d just said goodbye to a very good friend. I was sobbing through parts of the movie, despite already knowing the ending since I read the book at least twice. I wasn’t the only one sobbing in the theater. I thought that they did a really good job turning the second half of the book into the movie. I’d always had trouble trying to picture the Battle of Hogwarts and I loved that the scenes from the book that happened not from Harry’s POV, were translated on screen.

If you haven’t seen the movie yet, it’s definitely a must watch.

I know that Harry Potter will never really end, what with the upcoming Pottermore, and to paraphrase Dumbledore, Harry Potter will only truly end when there are none who are still loyal to him. As I’m looking forward to introducing the magical world of Harry Potter to my kids one day, I don’t think it’ll end at all.

Comments are closed.