Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Friday Foods: Spicy Soy Sauce Beef

Having to cook for myself when I was studying abroad meant that I usually asked around for easy recipes to cook. One of my favourite beef recipes to do was one that was give to me by my ex’s mother, a simple yet spicy soy sauce beef recipe or better known as Daging Masak Kicap (pic). It’s my go-to recipe when I feel like having beef and also one of my favourite dishes when my granny used to make them.

Ingredients
1/2 kilo of beef, cut thinly
2 potatoes cut into wedges and fried
2 cloves of garlic, sliced
6 shallots, sliced
a little bit of sliced ginger
Mixed together – 1 tsp chilli paste & 1 tsp curry powder
2 fresh red and green chillies, sliced
2 tsp vinegar


Marinate the beef with a little bit of salt and tumeric powder. Fry the beef in a little bit of oil. Add in a little bit of water and cook the beef until it’s well done. Remove the beef from the pot.

Add in a little bit of oil and fry the garlic, shallots and ginger. Add in the chilli past and curry powder mixture and fry until it’s fully cooked (basically when people outside of the kitchen are sneezing). Add in half a glass of water, soy sauce and a little sugar. You can add in a little crumbled cube of beef stock if you want. Stir until the sauce has thickened.

Add in the beef, the potatoes, fresh chillies and vinegar. Stir and simmer for a few minutes. Serve hot with rice.

Serves about 4.

Comments are closed.