Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

The Ultimate Vampire Book

vintage classics draculaBram Stoker’s Dracula was the book that started it all. They made so many movies out if it and of course, so many different shows and stories/novels based on the idea that the dead can come back to life, with a hankering for human blood.

I’ve been wanting to read this book for the longest time. It was while I was reading The Historian that I decided to get a copy of Dracula for myself. I wanted to know what was so interesting with this story that there’s been so many different remakes/re-writes about it?

I’ve seen the movie. It was sweet and lovely. A rather good love story, I might add. So how different could it be, right?

Wrong.

The book was nothing like the movie at all. Sure, the book and the movie started out the same way, with Jonathan Harker going to Transylvania to meet the Count to get him to sign the papers for his new property and the ordeal that the poor man had to go through just to come back to England. While I read the book, I had scenes from the movie play in my head. However, the relationship between Mina Harker and Dracula are totally not what it’s like in the movie at all.

I have problems reading some parts of it, especially the dialogue and the portions written from Abraham Van Helsing’s point of view. The sentences are convoluted and may not be what see as grammatically correct, but seeing that I’m not an expert in the English language, it could be correct and I’m just an ignorant fool. Anyway, I’m attributing the strange sentence phrasing to the fact that Van Helsing, being Dutch, may not be a native English speaker.

Overall, I did enjoy the book very much. I would have loved it more if the book was more violent and bloody but I don’t think that that was the writing style back then in the 1800s. I definitely have to re-read the book again to pick up on the little things that I might have missed when I read through it the first time; just like what I did when I read Tolkein’s Lord of The Rings.

Comments are closed.