Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Missing The Supermarket

You don’t realise how much something means to you until you don’t have it any more. That was what I found out when the supermarket at the mall closed and I was left without a convenient place to do my groceries.

The mall near my neighbourhood is currently undergoing major renovations and as a result of that, the Cold Storage supermarket had closed down. Why do I lament the closing of a supermarket that is generally a little pricier than the ones that are just walking distance from my house? The reason for that is the variety of the items available at Cold Storage.

The supermarkets very near my home are catered to the local masses, with mostly Asian products, sauces and limited choices of cheese, dairy products and various other ingredients that are imported. Due to the relatively big expatriate community near where I live, the items at the Cold Storage are catered to them; with the multiple types of dairy products, various cold cut options and even a rotisserie for barbecued chicken too.

I never realised how important Cold Storage was until I wanted to make lasagna and discovered that none of the supermarkets in the area carried ricotta, fresh mozzarella and fresh herbs. I had to settle for frozen mince since I couldn’t get fresh mince anywhere. It was very frustrating.

I really hope that once the renovation works at the mall are completed, I’ll get my supermarket back. I miss having all the ingredients that I want only a train station away.

Comments are closed.