Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Currently Reading: The Historian

the historian Truthfully, this is actually my second attempt at reading this book. I bought it a couple of years back at a cousin’s recommendation, read about a third of the book but got distracted by something else. I’d lent the book to Dude but he never got around to reading it so I thought, why not give it another go.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova is a refreshing new look at the Dracula myth and lore. The story starts out with the main character writing down her story for her successor. She retells her story from her late teens when she first discovered the lore behind Dracula and the history of the man. The interesting bits start happening when her father goes missing and she goes in search of him while at the same time, trying to evade something ominous that’s following her.

The book is an interesting read but it can be a little draggy in the beginning. I’ve read about two thirds of the book and I must say that it’s at its most interesting and I can’t wait to finish it.

So, what do I think of it so far?


I found it most fascinating and interesting that the story isn’t told in the usual third person or a singular first person point of view. The story and the entire background of the whole book was (so far) told through multiple first person point of views; the main character’s, her father’s and even the father’s mentor. I love that some of the more interesting background stories were told through letters.

I love the fact that the movie included a lot of factual history about Vlad the Impaler. It was like reading both a horror book and a history book (which I love) at the same time.

However, it does get a little confusing. I had to go back and check whose point of view the story was being told in when I wasn’t paying attention to the punctuation being used.

I must admit that I’m a big fan of horror movies and books. I don’t get creeped out that easily or get nightmares very often from them, but this book does creep me out a little and I even had trouble sleeping due to my over active imagination.

Overall, I think it’s a really good book, just don’t expect the vampires to be like what you’d see in the movies.

Comments are closed.