Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

The Quest For Higher Education – Learning Independently

mussels

I’m starting my last two years of my Masters candidature and with all the requisite classes done, it’s time to start on my project. It took me a while before I came up with a rough idea on what to do and after talking to my supervisor, I decided to do on the effect of heavy metal exposure on Asian green mussels, specifically on the glutathione levels in the mussels. I’m actually superbly stoked, excited and revving to start on it.

Unfortunately, before I could do that, I need to figure out how to go about to do this in a systematic way. In the past couple of days, I’ve read a pile of journal articles from scientists who have done similar works or what I’m planning to do. I didn’t realise that there were so many variations of the same thing and it confused me to the point of inducing a migraine.


Someone asked me, why didn’t I just ask my supervisor for help. The thing is, I know that my supervisor is the type to make you do your own research and will only help out if you’re really stuck. So I’m trying to learn independently and see if I can come up with a comprehensive, valid experiment by myself. So far, I have a rough idea of what I want to do but the minor details need to be worked out.

I must say that I’m learning a lot. I never knew that there were so many different ways you could do the same thing and trying to pick out the best way to do it, in the context of my project scope at least, is proving to be a little harder than I thought. So far, I’m learning that it’s not easy trying to plan an experiment without having the protocol given to you and that you have to make you own protocol sheet but at the same time, I’m getting a better understanding of the project and why it’s important.

I just hope that all this work will pay off and that ultimately, I get to do the science I want and the way I want it.

Comments are closed.