Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Friday Foods: Falafel

Falafel
via kudumomo

Falafel is one of my favourite Middle Eastern cuisines ever since I first had it at a Lebanese restaurant. I’ve been wanting to see if I could make it at home since I‘m cheap don’t always go to that restaurant. So when Cartcart game me a very simple recipe, I decided to try it out.

Ingredients

175g dried chickpeas
1 small onion, chopped
1 garlic, chopped
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tbsp parsley, chopped
salt


Soak the chickpeas over night in water and remove the skin. (Tip: To remove the skin, wrap the soaked peas in a towel and smash them with the bottom of a heavy bottle.)

Put all the ingredients into a blender or a food processor and give it a whiz.

Roll the paste into small balls and deep fry them. If you had added a little water into the blender like I did, you can just drop teaspoonful of the mixture into the hot oil. Cook until it’s golden brown.

You can eat it on it’s own or in pita bread with veggies. I like to dip it in hummus.

Note: My falafels ended up looking like pakoras but I think that falafels are essential Middle Eastern pakoras. I think that it would have turned out better if I had used a food processor instead of a blender but it still turned out nice and tasty. Since the dhal pakoras have about the same texture, I’m going to try it with dhal the next time.

Comments are closed.