Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

All About Coffee

starbucks coffee

As part of the Congo River Art Exhibition, the Asian Civilization Museum, in collaboration with Starbucks Singapore, held a coffee appreciation class. If anyone has read this blog for some time, you’d realise how much I luuurve coffee, so I could not resist the urge and signed up for the class, since there were a limited number of seats available.

This was not the first coffee appreciation class that I’ve been to but it was the first, rather comprehensive one. Starbucks usually does their coffee appreciation classes at their respective outlets and from what I can recall of the last one, I do not think that they did such a region-centric breakdown of the different types of beans


The class was held at the basement of the museum and as we (Sarah, Joelyn and later, Raven Silvers) could smell the freshly brewed coffee all the way from the staircase. We sat down and waited for the class to start, since majority of the attendees were a little late.

tasting

The two Starbucks reps who were there started the class with the origins of the coffee beans. I scored myself a free drink voucher for answering their question which is rather easy once you’ve read this a couple of times.

The best part of the whole thing is of course, the tasting bit. We were told to slurp the coffee, to spray it throughout our mouths and then think of where the taste of the coffee lands on the tongue. One of the ladies who attended could not stop laughing because of the slurping. I think she’s just not used to being a little uncouth in public but for the sake of coffee, she tried her best and I think she started enjoying the coffee tasting after that.

We got to taste coffees made from beans from three different regions, Mexico, Kenya and Sumatra. Out of the three that I tasted, I love the Sumatran coffee the best; it’s full of flavour and not acidic at all and I would gladly drink it black. Since I usually take my coffee with milk and sugar, that’s actually saying a lot.

paired food

We were then introduced to food that pair very well with the different types of coffees; chocolate walnut brownie for the Mexican, grapes fro the Kenyan and the butter almond cake for the Sumatran. Each type of food not only complements the basic taste of the different coffee types but also cuts down on the bitterness. It was amazing how the taste changes slightly when you mix it with the food.

coffee

By the end of the class, all of us would have finished at least half a cup of each type of coffee. I’m not sure about the other attendees but there wasn’t enough caffeine in the coffee I drank to keep me up, so I slept really well that night. After the class, I’m actually considering in investing in a stove-top espresso (or a latte/cappuccino) maker, just so that I can have good coffee everyday.

Some time in March, they’re going to have another event for the Congo River Exhibit. Do check out the Asian Civilisation Museum site for more info.

Comments are closed.