Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Friday Foods: Homemade Coney Dog Sauce

I didn’t expect it to be such a hit when I tried out the recipe but it was. Now you don’t have to go all the way to A&W for coney dogs.

Two with everything
via mollyali

Coney Island Chili Dog Sauce

1 pound ground chuck
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 six ounce can tomato paste
1 cup water
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon prepared yellow mustard
1 tablespoon dried, minced onion
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon celery seed
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin (heaping)
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper


Brown ground beef in a skillet, adding onions half way
through. Add minced garlic when meat is nearly done.

Add remaining ingredients; stir well to combine. Simmer over
low heat 15 minutes.

Serve over hot dogs, Coney Island style!

Changes I did when I tested it out: I thought that 2 teaspoons of chilli powder was a wussy amount to use so instead, I added 1½ tablespoons of home-made chilli paste. Also, I omitted the celery seed, the mustard and the Worcestershire sauce.

[via]

Comments are closed.