Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.


Food Fridays: Kimchi Soup

kimchi soup

My aunt and cousins came back from Korean recently and brought back kimchi for everyone. Since noone else in my house knows what to do with it, I thought I would make soup from it.

Ingredients

150g of thinly sliced meat
1 cup of kimchi
1 cup of roughly chopped cabbage
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 small pack of iinoki mushroom
half a pack of silken tofu, cubed
1-1.5L of water
2 tbsp oil


Heat the oil in a medium sized pot and stir fry the meat slices until cooked.

Add in the garlic and fry until the garlic is nice and fragrant.

Add in the kimchi and stir fry for a little while. Then add in the water and bring to a boil.

Add in the tofu, cabbage and mushroom and simmer until the cabbage is nice and soft.

Season to taste.

Serve with rice or noodles or even just on it’s own.

Comments:
When I made this, I used beef shabu shabu since it was the thinnest sliced meat that I could find in the supermarket (and also the cheapest since it was frozen). It stuck to the pot when I stir fried it but by adding a little bit of water, the meat just unstuck itself and continued cooking in it’s own juices.

I mixed the usual cabbage kimchi with half a cup of radish kimchi, along with some of the kimchi juices from the package but I think I didn’t add enough to the pot because the taste was mild. Well, that could also be due to me adding in too much water (~2L) into my pot.

The taste of the soup isn’t the same as the ones that I’ve tasted at the foodcourt. I read recipes that were shared by others online, they added the Korean chilli paste which I couldn’t find at the local supermarket so I’d omitted it. Maybe I should hunt for it and add it in the next time I make the soup. Besides, I might needed it for when I make kimchi fried rice.

