Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.


2010 In Retrospect

I was contemplating on whether I should even do a summary of my life in 2010 but since I did it for the last few years (here, here and here), I might as well keep to tradition and just do it.

2010 was an interesting year, filled with events, meeting new people, self-discovery and thanks.

In 2010, I discovered that just because you’re afraid to do something, it doesn’t mean that it should stop you from doing it. My weekend adventures with the Adventure Crew helped me with deal with my fear of heights and the slight vertigo that I have. Adventures can be found here and here. All the climbing, getting lost and various physical things that we end up doing during our adventures made me realise that there are so many things to do in Singapore and how sorely out of shape I am.


The Happy Smiley Writers Group, of which I am a member, had published our first full-length novel, Bubble G.U.M.. It’s been a long time coming and I’m proud to have been part of this project. It was a very good and interesting experience and has taught me a lot on how to work with other writers and the rough editing process that comes with making our contributions into a smooth, single story.

School schedule was hectic for me in 2010. The first semester of the year was not too bad, with the classes only being twice a week, with normal workload and exams to study for. The second semester was totally different. While I had no exams to study for but the schedule for the classes were sometimes so packed, coupled with essays due every fortnight, I was frazzled and more than a little stressed out to juggle school and my work life.

Work kept me on my toes and even though it kept me busy enough that I barely had time to catch up on my readings for school, I actually enjoyed the work. It made me realise that I’m good at what I do and my technical lab schools are hot. I realised that while I may not enjoy working on human related research, I enjoy being in the lab.

On the personal front, I discovered that getting your heart broken isn’t the end of the world and when you bounce back, you’re stronger for it. Love may have been lost but the love found is better. I’m very thankful that I had a circle of close and awesome friends that I could turn to when I needed to lick my wounds and recover. They have been wonderfully supportive and I’m so, so thankful to have them in my life.

So 2010 wasn’t so bad. I’m hoping that the coming year will be better for all my loved ones and I.

