Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Meeting Gail Simone (And Crying)

When the guests lists for the Singapore Toys, Games and Comics Convention (STGCC) was released, my friends were superbly excited that Gail Simone was coming for the con. I’ve read her works and I love the way she writes, so I was just as excited.

On the opening day of the convention, I met with Joelyn and we headed to the con to meet Sarah who was already there as a volunteer, so that I can pass her my copy of Wonder Woman: The Circle so that she can help me get it signed by Gail Simone the next day, just in case I miss the signing session.

As we were walking around the hall, looking at the different booths, Sarah said to me, “Turn around.”

I turned and there Gail was, standing and talking to people. We went up to her and asked if she would mind signing my comic book. I handed her the book and burst into tears. It was so embarrassing for both Gail and myself. It was the biggest fan girl moment of my life.


I seriously did not expect the tears and I was so damn embarrassed, but Gail was such a good sport. She signed my book and even let us take a picture with her.

Me and Gail
Photo courtesy of Seriously Sarah

If you clicked on the picture to embiggen it, you’ll see that I still have the tears in my eyes when we took the photo. Fangirl much?

Anyway, I managed to arrive at the con on time for Gail Simone’s signing session. As I was queueing up to see her, she walked by and I started crying again. It was mucho embarrassing but I got my tears under control by the time it was my turn and managed to tell her coherently that even though I don’t have anything for her to sign that day, we, the HSWG, had something for her instead. We passed her a copy of Happiness At The End of the World and Bubble G.U.M., signed by all the writers involved so that she can have something to remember us by (as if having a crying fan handing her comic book to get signed isn’t memorable enough).

me and gail 2

So, it was the most awesome thing to happen to me that weekend. I really hope that she’ll come back soon and that we don’t have to wait another four years for us to see her again on our shores. I can promise that I won’t cry the next time I see her. Really!

Comments are closed.