Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Weekend of Awesome

Lately, most of my weekends are spent doing assignments, hanging out with my friends for a while and then spending time with Dude but this week, my weekend was most awesome. I had loads of fun.

On Saturday morning, I met up with the Adventure Crew for the archaeological dig site at The National Art Gallery. It was a beautiful sunny and very hot morning. Sarah and I were the first ones there. After a short briefing, we were put to work; carefully scooping the soil with a trowel and into buckets so as to expose the artefacts without damaging them.

It was not easy work and I pulled a back muscle while lifting the buckets and unfortunately, had to leave most of the heavy lifting to Sarah. I felt really bad about it because everyone was doing their share of the work and there I was, unable to help with most of the work.

pottery shards
Picture courtesy of Sarah


Within the first fifteen minutes of working, we managed to find a few pottery shards and after two hours, we managed to get a decent amount of pottery shards that, we were told, as old as modern Singapore. This means that these shards have been buried in the soil since the 1800s. How freaking cool is that?

Unfortunately, I had to leave early due to familial obligation and so I left my fellow archaeologists-wanna-be to continue the fun work of digging stuff up.

On Sunday, I most of the morning at the library trying to do my school assignments. I managed to see the Rihlah exhibit at the library. It was really interesting.

The rest of the day was spent at Dude’s store, where I finished up my assignments and minded the store while he and a cousin manned the tables (that were just right outside of the store) of knick knacks that they were selling at the Flea & Fun Market along Haji Lane. I didn’t take any pictures since the crowd was huge and you can barely move around but here’s a good write up of the weekend’s flea market event.

It was interesting seeing all the stuff that the other vendors were selling but due to the crowd (and that I missed the previous day’s sale), I didn’t get to see much of the stuff.

All in all, my weekend was awesome. I got to hang out with my friends, pretended to be an archaeologist for a while, finished up most of my assignments and experienced first hand what it was like to be a part-time sales girl, having to mind the store all by yourself for a few minutes (which is damn scary when you don’t have any sales experience at all).

Comments are closed.