Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

My Modification To The McCormick Chilli Recipe

chilli-con-carne-recipe
(via deepdarksquid)

I had chilli at Wendy’s today and reaffirmed my thought, nothing tastes as good as home-made food. Sure, my home-made chilli isn’t fully home-made but it sure tastes better than the one at I had at the fast food place.

My base for my modified version is the recipe from the back of the McCormick Chilli Mix but I’ve modified it slightly, to suit my need for extra spice and my love for onions.


Ingredients:
1 pound ground beef (that’s about 450g)
1 package McCormick® Chili Seasoning Mix, Original
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 can (15 to 16 ounces) kidney or pinto beans, undrained
1 medium onion chopped as chunky or as finely as you want
3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
2tbs chilli powder/paste (more if you want it spicy)
1tsp cumin powder
salt and sugar to taste

DIRECTIONS

1. Brown meat in large skillet on medium-high heat. Transfer meat to strainer to drain fat.

2. In the same pot now devoid of meat, fat and juices, add about 2tbs of oil and fry the onions and garlic until they’re translucent.

3. Add in the chilli powder or paste and fry until the chilli paste/powder is fragrant and fully cooked. Add in the drained meat and stir.

4. Stir in the Seasoning Mix and cumin powder and fry till it’s fragrant.

5. Stir in tomato sauce and beans. Bring to boil. Reduce heat to low; cover and simmer 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Season to taste. Serve with assorted toppings, if desired.

Basically, that’s it. The chilli usually tastes better the next day when it’s thicker and not as watery.

Comments are closed.