Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.


Of Culture and the Flyer

One of my most favourite things to do on a weekend is to go museum hopping and I’m really glad that Dude loves going to museums as much as I do. I don’t really mind going to museums alone but having company is even better since you get to talk about the exhibits and sometimes make snarky comments because well, I’m bitchy like that.

Anyway, two weekends ago, we ended up going to the Peranakan Museum as there was a new exhibition; Ramayana Revisited: A Tale of Love & Adventure. Interesting, no? We went through the permanent exhibit first, looking at what makes up the Peranakan culture. It wasn’t just the food or the clothes, but also the cultural things that, while may seem similar to the Chinese culture, are remarkably different.

One of the most interesting, at least to me, things that I saw was this kebaya top that immediately reminded me of Wena Poon.

kebaya top

Wena has new book out titled Alex y Robert, about a young lady wanting to be a matador. So the bull and matador motif embroidered on the top totally reminded me of her book. I barely took any pictures at the museum after that since my camera battery was dying and I still had the rest of the day filled with activities to attend.

After lunch, while Dude went to work, I went to meet up with the Adventure Crew (Avariel, Joelyn, Raven and Sarah) and Jerrick for the next part of my day’s adventure; going up the Singapore Flyer.

ticket frontticket back

Actually, the tickets weren’t free. Since Sarah and Joelyn had coupons for the Flyer from their Big Walk goodie pack, when you divided up the cost of 4 tickets between 6 people, it’s heck of a lot cheaper. So yes, once we paid for our tickets, we went up to the ‘boarding’ platform and had to go through the security checks that is not unlike the ones that you go through to board a plane.

Boarding the Flyer is a little tricky since it doesn’t stop moving, unlike a normal Ferris wheel. You just have to quickly get through the door and into the capsule when it reaches the platform and try not to trip or fall as the capsule keeps moving on.

MBS

Once in the capsule, almost everyone went “Ooooh! Aaaaah!” at the view. My camera battery was in it’s tail end of battery juice so I couldn’t take as many pictures as I wanted. However, I did manage to take a few of the surrounding sights, like the Marina Bay Sands building. You can’t really see the curved ship hull-shaped roof from the angle I took.

marina barrageconservatories garden

As our capsule moved up the arc, you could see the Marina Barrage, where we had our kite flying adventure a few months back. The Conservatories Garden was currently under construction and according to my sister, the plant expert, when it’s done, it should look like a tropical garden forest. Or something along those lines since I wasn’t really paying attention when she was explaining these things.

cbd 2cbd 1

We also got to see a beautiful view of the CBD. Despite the construction going on, you have to admit that the CBD area is beautiful, especially at night. The night time skyline is the one thing that always makes me feel like I’m home whenever I take a night flight back to Singapore from wherever.

It was a full day of culture and adventure for me and by the time we went off for home, I was exhausted but glad that I went out. Awesome company and and awesome day out will always make up for the exhaustion.

