Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Loving The Strays

Neko

I’ve always liked cats. I find them cute, furry and with an edge of danger to them, seeing how they would eat you if you die and they had nothing else to eat. Unfortunately for me, my mum, having grown up with cats, wouldn’t let us have one in the house, citing all the negative points of having furry pets in the house. So we ended up having a tank full of fish instead.

Over the past few years, there’s been an increase in the number of stray cats in my neighbourhood, specifically around my apartment block. I would see them lounging in the sun or in the lifts when it rains and they meow at me so cutely as I pass. Since my mother wouldn’t let me have a cat of my own to love and pet, I’ll just pet and love the strays.

The regular stray kitty that I see almost every day is this male cat. It’s been around the area for a number of years. These past few months, it’s looking a little bit more ragged than usual but it’s still strong and very friendly.

block kitty

The cat likes to sit at the void deck, taking a nap or sprawled on the floor of the lift landing, acting like it’s the king of the area. On rainy days, it’ll spend the whole day napping in the lift, curling itself right in the centre of it, forcing everyone to squish themselves against the sides so that we won’t accidentaly kick it on our way out.

petting block kitty

It’s also one of the friendliest strays in the area, letting you pet it for however long you want to. It’ll meow back if talk to it. Some days I wish I could just sit at the void deck and pet it the whole day but unfortunately, I can’t.

There are a number of kind Samaritans in the neighbourhood who feed the strays and make sure that the food areas are cleaned up after the feeding so that the wouldn’t be any complains. Some times I feel like getting some treats for the kitties but I don’t know how it’ll affect their meals and their diet.

Ultimately, when I have a house of my own, I’m definitely going to adopt a cat that needs a good home with people who will love them and care for them.

Comments are closed.