Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

A Family That Eats Together, Can Barely Fit Into The Car After A Buffet

It’s been a quite a while since my family had a proper family outing as my parents always seem to be busy on the weekend. Last Sunday was one of the rare occasions that we finally could go out as a family and do family related activities; namely eat. A lot.

It just so happens that a Sakura International Buffet outlet opened in my neighbourhood sometime ago. My parents had never been to any of the buffet outlets so I thought, since my sister was graduating in a week and it was Mother’s Day last week, why not go out for lunch.

So that’s what we did.

Knowing how popular the buffet restaurant is, we had to be there early to be able to get a table for ourselves. We arrived a few minutes after the lunch hour started and found the place crowded. Fortunately, there were still tables and we managed to secure ourselves a table for the five of us.

My parents had taken a quick look at the selection of food offered and were overwhelmed by the choices. It took them a while before they were comfortable enough with the crowd to get what ever they wanted.

It was great to spend time with my parents, just talking, eating and enjoying their company. It’s not every day that I get to see my dad take a spoonful of clams and declare that he likes it and that it tastes good. He doesn’t even say that about my mum’s cooking (and she’s an awesome cook).

My parents tried all the seafood that was offered and anything else that we rarely had a chance to try. I even got my mum to try some eel, though she didn’t like it. My dad wouldn’t even try it.

I wish that we could spend more time like this but due to all our schedules and my parents being across the causeway for most weekends, it’s hard to spend time together. Though I hope that we get to do this again some time soon.

Comments are closed.