Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Gotta Catch ‘Em All!

Most people would say that Pokemon games and shows are for kids but over the last few months, I’ve come to the conclusion that it isn’t. Having two version of the games myself, I must say that it’s fun and somewhat addictive once you get into it.

A few weeks back, Sarah told us that there were actual Pokemon gyms in Singapore, where ‘trainers’ get to meet to battle, trade and train their Pokemons. A quick search and I found that it was totally true!

So we dropped by to check it out.

We went to The Cathay gym outlet and was surprised to see the long table already full of players, ages ranging from teens to middle age. It thought that it was really awesome that this game has brings people of all ages together.

Anyway, we were told that that session was only open to the trading card game (TCG) players. The video game session will only be open the following week. The Adventure Crew and I were disappointed since all of us had brought our respective Nintendo DS and games. So we left, only to return next week to find the TCG game already in action.

We managed to get the ‘gym’ leader’s attention so that we could sign up for the League.

battle card
Photo courtesy of Seriously Sarah

Once everyone was registered, we were given a card that we’ll get the gym leader to sign after each game. When we’ve completed the total number of games required to finish the card, players will get exclusive Pokemon merchandise.

None of us had ever actually been to a Pokemon ‘gym’ before so the guy had to show us how to proceed. Apparently, all you needed was to connect the DS games (which ever version it is) to a Wii set with Pokemon Battle Revolution, and you’re all set to battle.

battle
Photo courtesy of Seriously Sarah

I was first up against Avariel. She kicked my ass at it since her Pokemons were all of high levels than mine. It was so strange to see the ‘battle’ up on the tv set and we managed to get quite a crowd around us. I guess not many people would have seen Pokemon battles like that either.

In the end we only played 3 games because the Wii set kept dropping the connection to our DS(es?). It was fun while it lasted and we met another guy who was there with his DS. The dude had been playing as long as there had been Pokemon games and he’s got Pokemons that I’ve never even seen/heard of. I got myself 3 new Pokemons, due to wonderful people trading with me and some items that I needed too.

I’d definitely go again if I had enough people to go with me but in the mean time, I need to level up those monsters first. It’s hard to beat anyone when they can knock out your team with just one punch.

Comments are closed.