Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Book of the Week: Urban Shaman by C. E. Murphy

Urban Shaman by CE MurphyUrban fantasy is one of my favourite genres to read. Mercedes Lackey got me hooked to it with car-racing elves series. Then there was Kelley Armstrong and Patricia Briggs, both authors I’d picked up by chance at the book store and I immediately fell in love with their story telling.

The latest author that I’d randomly picked up is C.E. Murphy. I was hanging out at the fantasy section and was just browsing when the cover of Urban Shaman caught my eye. I flipped through it and I thought why not. The blurb was interesting enough.

From the back of the book:


Joanne Walker has three days to learn to use her shamanic powers and save the world from the unleashed Wild Hunt.

No worries. No pressure. Never mind the lack of sleep, the perplexing new talent for healing herself from fatal wounds, or the cryptic, talking coyote who appears in her dreams.

And if all that’s not bad enough, in the three years Joanne’s been a cop, she’s never seen a dead body—but she’s just come across her second in three days.

It’s been a bitch of a week.

And it isn’t over yet.

Joanne Walker, the protagonist of the story, was believable and realistic, especially when she had to come to terms with her powers. Any rational person, when faced with what she did would be in denial before grudgingly accept the new, unwanted powers that she was saddled with.

The book was fast paced, moving from scene to scene like an action movie; only with words. Maybe it’s just my way of picturing things when I read but it really felt like I was watching an action movie with sword fights against gods, in my head.

I could barely put the book down and I had to try very hard to not spoil the ending for myself. Up to the last page, I enjoyed every nail-biting, edge of the seat, gripping bit of it.

As the book is the first in The Walker Papers series, I had to get the rest if the series because good books are like drugs and potato chips. You can’t just stop at one. I’m currently reading the second book, Thunderbird Falls. That will be another entry for another time.

Do check out this series if you like strong, stubborn female protagonists in urban fantasy novels.

Comments are closed.