Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

The Percy Jackson Series, So Far

PJ & Lightning Thief small

When I realised that the Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief movie was based on a book, my first thought was, I need to read that book before I watch the movie. So, when I saw the book at the bookstore during a recent lunch-time jaunt, I had to get the book. At first, I was a little worried that it would be another disappointment since the last few Young Adult books I picked up were quite a bore. However, the story sucked me into the world of demigods from the get go.

It’s like the modernisation of the Greek mythology, with the demigods doing great, heroic things and finding out what their destinies are. The protagonist of the series is Percy Jackson, one of the demigod kids. In The Lightning Thief, we follow Percy as he discovers how special he is, the friends that he makes along the way and the quest that he was forced to set out on. The second book, has more of the same, just with more monsters, some new characters and a lot of action.

Reading this books reminded me of when I first picked up Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone. I couldn’t put the book down. I just had to finish it and I even had to force myself to not go to the last page and spoilt the book for me, just so that I can fully experience the book. It paid off because I seriously like the first book and I was itching for more.

I love Percy’s dry humour. He made me laugh more than a few times while I was reading on the train. The other similarity with the Harry Potter series that I found, is that there are 3 characters as well; 2 boys and a girl, just like the Trio. Even characater-wise, it’s similar. Percy being the Chosen one, Annabeth, the smart one and Grover, the funny side-kick/best friend who gets in trouble but is an asset to the team.

I went in search of it at all the bookstores I could find and I only saw book 2, 4, and 5. Book 3, The Titan’s Curse, was not seen at all. I asked around and the bookstore people all said that it was sold out. Even though I was nodding and smiling and saying,”Aww, that’s too bad”, internally, I was going “ARGH! WHO THE HECK HAS BEEN BUYING ALL THE BOOKS I WANT?!” The nice lady at Kinokuniya Ngee Ann City told me to check back in a fortnight and you can bet your ass I’ll be there in two weeks to see if I can the book/s.

I like the books that I’ve read so far and fortunately for me, the wikipedia entry for this series isn’t as detailed as some of the other books, so it didn’t spoil the series for me all that much. I’ll be looking forward to getting the rest of the books.

I’ll definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes young adult fiction, dry humour and Greek mythology. It’s an absolutely fun read.

Comments are closed.