Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Sunday Adventures: Books Actually Turns 4

books actually small

After the last NaNoWriMo write-in for the year, a group of us (Seriously Sarah, Raven Silvers, Joelyn Alexandra, Avariel and I) went to Books Actually for their 4th anniversary thing.

They had moved from their Ann Siang Street outlet, to Polymath & Crust, their sister bookshop location at Clubs Street. The HSWG ladies and I were there in June for a writer flash mob reading.

books actually 1 small

So anyway, the first floor was entirely dedicated to literary and design books. I would have taken hell of a lot more pictures if I wasn’t so enamoured by the floor to ceiling shelves of books. The wooden shelves, the scent of book pages and cement, the soothing sounds of indie music playing in the back ground. I loved it, the whole experience. If I was alone and the shop wasn’t as packed as it was, I would have sat down in the couch at the little nook at the back of the first floor, closed my eyes and let my imagination flow.

It was one of those places that makes me feel superbly creative and I really, really wanted to sit down and write out the short story bouncing in my head, while I was there but uh, I didn’t it would be appropriate to occupy too much space in an already crowded area.

We ventured up to the second and third floors of the building and there were more floor to ceiling shelves of books, along with little knick knacks that brought all of us growing up in the 80s, back to our childhood memories.

books actually 2 small

There was the wooden box of paperweights (points to picture above). It had some stones in the shape of shells and sealed shot glasses filled with earth. Interesting, yes?

All of us concluded that if we ever were to get locked-in in a bookstore, Books Actually would be perfect. It could almost rival Neil Gaiman’s library, which is what my dream library would look like.

We couldn’t leave a book store without getting anything, so I ended up with a CIAK sketchbook, which I have no idea why I got it since I can’t draw to save my life, and a plain notebook that was Polymath & Crust’s own brand. I have no idea what I’m going to do with the plain notebook but being me, I’ll figure something out since I never leave home without a notebook.

With the end of November, the NaNoWriMo weekend adventures also come to an end. I have to find my own adventures after this. Anyone game?

Comments are closed.