Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Dear Starbucks

You and I, we can't seem to be separated. For you, I waited in the rain for the shuttle bus just so that I could come to you and get my dose of caffeine. For you, I would make and extra stop before my destination just for a whiff of roasted coffee beans and a gulp of the dark ambrosia. You are like a drug I can't seem to say no to.

It's NaNoWriMo month and that means, you've brought in your Christmas drinks. My friends have been going on and on about your toffee nut latte. Personally, I think it tastes too much like the local dessert, chendol, for my liking. Don't get me wrong, I love chendol. Just not when it's supposed to be coffee. I do remember way back when you had the peppermint mocha, I seem to like it but knowing your style, you always seem to make the drinks too sweet. I thought that an extra shot of coffee would not only mask the utter sweetness but also give me the extra caffeine that I crave, so a triple shot grande peppermint mocha it was.

Oh, Baby! It was perfect. From the first sip, it was almost like a religious epiphany. It had everything I wanted; a coffee drink that still tasted of coffee, syrup to add just enough of the flavour and absolutely no whipped cream (yetch!). I loved it. I love the way I can taste the chocolate, the coffee and the peppermint just right. I especially love the minty tingle of the peppermint at the back of my throat.

Sure, I still have to wash it down with plain water in the end but it was a beautiful drink. At least in my opinion. I'm not much of a flavoured coffee but the peppermint mocha is an exception, but only with enough coffee in it.

Though, as I sit here, typing this and finishing up my coffee, I can't help but wish that you'd brought in the gingerbread latte as well. It'll be something different but totally Christmasy.

Until the next visit, Darling.

Love,
Me

Comments are closed.