Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

The Best Advice I’ve Heard This Week.

Long distance relationships are never easy. It gets harder when one or both have jobs that are time consuming, at odd hours and just basically not a normal 9 to 5 kind of deal. Throw in some thesis writing and there might be a problem if the relationship isn’t strong enough.

I feel like I’ve been in a long distance relationship since forever and it doesn’t seem to feel like we’re ever going to be in the same country for more than a few weeks. It sucks but there isn’t much that you can do about it. Not many people would understand why I go all out to take leave and basically drop everything I’m doing to spend time with The Significant Other when he’s back in town. They would go on and say that absence makes the heart grow fonder or some crap like that. I say that’s bullshit but that’s another entry all together.

What they don’t understand is that in those few short weeks that he’s back, I have to rack up as much quality time spent together as possible because I know that once his thesis writing starts, he’ll be superbly busy and he won’t be coming back until it’s all over. With me back in school (and the ever piling to-read pile waving its hands at me and shouting, Read me! Read me!), those short, little phone calls, emails and even text messages will dwindle down to few and far between. It’s going to get tough.

So when I read this entry at Dr Isis, it made me feel like I can do it and that while it may get harder, it’s not the end of the world and that the relationship might come out stronger.

Not only do I find the post interesting and helpful, the comments were even more so. This comment by Leigh says it all for me. Spend quality time when you’re together and support each other’s goals.

Even though I’m not married, like the ladies in the comment’s, I still think that all of the factors mentioned still apply. It takes a lot of understanding and sacrifice. And maybe some tears too but it will be worth it when he comes home.

So the next time someone said that I shouldn’t be spending too much time with him, I will punch them in the face before leaving. No one stands between me and my quality time because it’s that important.

Technorati Tags: ,

Comments are closed.