Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

To The Library We Go

It’s been ages since I last went to the regional library in my neighbourhood (going in there to use the ladies does NOT count). I usually avoid it like a plague due to the overwhelming teenage population hanging out by the book stacks, making so much noise that the librarian had to use the PA system to remind them to respect the library and be quiet. On top of that, some parents would let their children run loose and the kids would be running up and down the aisles, screaming at the top of their lungs.

I went after work and I was surprised at how empty it was. There were a few teenagers but there were actually doing school work and research. There were barely any children and even then, they were sitting quietly with their parents while thumbing through what ever book they were holding.

Then I remembered, it’s a school day and the parents aren’t home yet from the office. That would explain why the library was nice and peaceful.

I’d actually gone down to the library to look for some research books for my assignment. The book that I’d initially picked out from the web search turned out to be droll and a little too lengthy for me. It was a good thing that I found two other books that seemed to fit into what I wanted.

Guess where I found the books?

At the Young Adults section.

You might wonder why I was looking through the YA section for essay research. Well, I was just looking for a simple book on the history of science and that was the only place that had the books in layman’s terms. It’s one thing to read a journal article in all the technical jargon but to do an essay on the philosophy of stuff, I don’t want to go through all that B.S. terms when a kids book can tell me the same thing in two sentences.

Anyway, other than the two YA books, I also picked out two of Terry Pratchett’s books, The Color of Magic and The Wyrd Sisters. I’ve heard so many people rave about how good the books are, so I had to give it a go. The too colourful, too cartoonish covers of the books had turned me off from reading them because I found them too distracting.

However, after hearing so many references to the books that I didn’t understand, I decided to get past my biases and start reading the book. Since I’ve only got about three weeks to read both books, I guess I have to put Heavy Metal Islam aside for the time being.

Technorati Tags:

Comments are closed.