Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

2008 In Retrospect

2008 was a year of change for me. I’m not against change, it’s just that I have a hard time adapting even if the change is on my terms. I will ultimately adapt but that doesn’t mean I won’t be kicking and screaming all the way.

The first half of the year was good. Everything went as it should. Even better than the last even.

My mother was given a clean bill of health by her doctor and she returned to work after a whole year of chemo treatments. I was glad that she was healthy again and I thought that life could go back to normal.

It was the second half of the year when the change started piling on top of each other, faster than I could get used to.

My sister left for her university education. It was not a bad change actually. Life at home was more peaceful. There weren’t any fights because the lights were turned on when I’m asleep, or fights about the tv, the DVD in the player or even over snacks.

Then my boss dropped the bomb that he was leaving. I worried about my job security. I worried about the projects. Basically everything work related was about to change with that one simple statement. After he left, I felt like I was in limbo and I know that I wasn’t the only one feeling that.

The change was slow but over the past few weeks, it had picked up pace and I think the change is now complete. We’ve integrated into another group and working with people we’ve worked with before. Hopefully this change will be a good one.

In the last quarter of the year, my grandmother suffered a stroke and that changed a lot of things in the house. There’s so much I could say about the change but I’m just going to leave it at that.

The only good thing that came in the final quarter was the fact that I got into grad school. It took me five years to get my act together and sent in my application. I’m both excited but at the same time scared at the prospect of going back to school. I’ll be juggling both work and school at the same time and I don’t know if I’m going to be able to compartmentalise as well as I should.

I think I’ve had enough change for a long while. I’m hoping that this coming year will be a good one for me and mine. I hope yours is too.

Until the next year…

Technorati Tags:

Comments are closed.