Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

There Is Hope For Me Yet.

Photo by danepstein

When I graduated from uni, all those years ago, I’d only given a fleeting thought on continuing my education. I know that a Bachelors Degree will never be enough if I plan to stay in this field. I would forever be a test tube washer if I don’t upgrade.

Then I started working and I saw that many of the women scientists were either unmarried or they married late. They were essentially workaholics, married to their work and that frightened me. As much as I love the science, the work (don’t let my complaining fool you into thinking that I hate it) and yes, even the frustration, I know there is more to life than just science. I want more in my life than just science. I want a family, children and maybe a pet cat or two. I want to be able to have time for my writing (that has go nothing to do with science) and other things.

At that point of time, I did not think that it was possible to for a woman juggle a career in science as well as a family life. This could be due to the fact that I don’t see or know any lady scientist who juggles the science and family. So that didn’t give me much confidence that it was possible.

However, these past week has been an eye opener. While skimming through my RSS feeds from ScienceBlogs, I stumbled upon one Dr Isis from On Becoming a Domestic and Laboratory Goddess. She’s a scientist with a lab of her own and is also a wife and mother. She’s witty and has a wicked taste for heels. She wakes up at 4am every morning to go to work but she comes home on time (I think) to feed, bathe and put her child to bed.

From her blog, I found many other women who are juggling science (graduate and post-grad) and family life, like:

  • ScientistMother: raising my own little experiment
  • Disgruntled Julie: A Ph.D. In Process
  • Thesis – with Children
  • Dr. Mom, My Adventures as a Mommy-Scientist
  • A Lady Scientist
  • Now that I’m going on to the next stage in my education, these women give me hope that if they can do it, so can I. I’m not naive enough to think that it will be easy because it won’t be. Sacrifices will be made but hopefully, it will be worth it. I think that with enough support from your partner and family, you can do anything.

    For now, I’m just going to concentrate on getting that MSc. Please let still have a job after April because I can’t afford school without a full time job After that’s done, we’ll see where the road takes me.

    Technorati Tags: ,

    Comments are closed.