Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

NaBloPoMo Day #11: Instant Noodles, My Comfort Food

Photo by bread is P-A-N.

A while back, I did a post on instant noodles on my food blog. I said that instant noodles are my go to food when I don’t feel like eating anything else, which is true but what I didn’t add was that it reminded me of my childhood, when my mum used to cook it for me. It’s my comfort food when I feel down or just plain lazy.

Over the years, I’ve developed my own way of cooking the noodles, which turned out to be very similar in the way my mother makes it now. The recipe below is a variation of the previous post.

Ingredients
2 pack instant noodles, curry flavour (I like the spiciness of it. You can sub it with something else)
2tbs curry powder
2 egg
1 medium onion, sliced finely
3-4 garlic cloves, chopped finely (more if you like garlic, like me)
a handful prawns
a handful of chicken strips
a handful of sliced carrots
a handful of greens, any greens
a handful of sliced cabbage
2 tomatoes, quartered
500ml water
some oil

In a pot (or a large wok), heat up the oil and throw in the garlic and onion.

Once they’re turning slightly brown, throw in the prawn, chicken and the sachets of powder that comes with the noodles and the curry powder.

Stir it around a little, until the prawns are pink and the chicken looks cooked. The chicken doesn’t have to be fully cooked since you’re going to boil it anyway.

Add in the water and the carrots. If you want the carrots to be crunchy, you can add in the noodles now of if you’re like me, who prefers them softer, you can wait a while for the water to boil before adding in the noodles.

When the noodles are cooked, add in the greens, cabbage and the tomato quarters and simmer until the greens are wilted and soft.

Beat the eggs in a bowl. Switch of the fire and pour the beaten egg over the noodles while it’s still steaming hot and stir in the egg, to give you a thicker soup.

Serve hot and enjoy.

Serves 2 (or 1 if you’re really hungry)

Technorati Tags: ,

Comments are closed.