Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

How Do You Blog?

12 Comments

There are so many different blogging styles and the different things that people blog about; the tech stuff, recipes, life in general and politics. Lately, I’ve read a few blogs that have very insightful, posts with such deep meaning that it goes way above my head and what I term as ‘normal’ posts, the ones that are light and fluffy, full of hilarious anecdotes and snark. I love me a good snark.

All of this made me think, why can’t I write like that? Why can’t I be all deep and thoughtful? I tried to do it but it only lasts for five minutes because after five minutes of deep pondering, my brain screamed for fun, joy, laughter and silly things. That’s how my brain is I guess. It’s full of fluff and fantasy, extremely vivid imagination and loads of silly, useless things. This is not to say that I can’t be all deep and thoughtful when I have to be, I can, it’s just that I can never find the words to express what I feel without sounding pompous or incoherent or both, so why try when other people can do it so much better than I can?

My blogging style is simple. I have verbal diarrhoea (thank God for spell check because I can never spell that word correctly). On top of that, I seem to have the gift for non sequitur, so the flow of things jump around a lot. Also, I can’t for the life of me spell/type correctly and don’t start on my grammatical errors. In short, I don’t re-read what I type because I think it takes too long. Personally, I think my internal editor disappears for most of the year and only comes back when in November when I’m doing NaNoWriMo, that bastard.

Anyway, I talk about the normal things like movies (which I don’t review because that’s just useless), the music I like (which I normally just embed videos. I heart YouTube) and food (which being Singaporean, is a must). Simple stuff really since I’m a simple person at heart, though I’ve been told that I’m complicated but I digress.


So, in keeping with my bogging style and also to celebrate my 500th post (yup, this is the 500th post. YAY!), I present to you my latest online purchase: a dress! Yes, I do wear dresses, not often but I do wear them. Studiofrost had some really pretty dresses that I couldn’t say no to.

I know that the colour is a little boring, being black and all, but I’m not fashionista so I always get colours that are easy to match. The material is soft and flowy, making it very comfortable. It looks a little crumpled since it just came out of the package. So what do you think? Isn’t it pretty?

I might have to pay closer attention to the updates that they have (I’m on the mailing list). I can’t wait to wear the dress out.

P.S This has got to be the longest post I’ve ever done that doesn’t involve lists.

P.P.S If you see any spelling/grammatical errors, it’s because I’m just too lazy to fix it. Actually, I’m just too lazy to re-read the post.

P.P.P.S This really is a long post.

Technorati Tags: ,

12 thoughts on “How Do You Blog?

  1. u shocked me..ha i thought yr blogging style is to show yr cleavage.. my apologies haha

  2. (trying hard to concentrate on the words)ok lah, I think that blogging style evolves too, along with the person and his/her life. Forcing oneself to write one style may not be that good and idea, as it loses the touch of personality inside.That’s what I feel.

  3. Nice dress!*approves*

  4. @fcukjournal: I don’t make it a habit of showing my cleavage in my blog lah. Anyway, apologies accepted. :D@cc: Agreed. @rinaz: Thank you!

  5. It begins with free-flowing thoughts as I am away from the computer. It’s really hard for me to write anything by just sitting down. I need my inspiration.Once I hit a snag, I get past it by defocusing. Yes, it’s counterintuitive, but I’ve realized that by not focusing on anything in particular, I can get past my writer’s block more easily. Maybe my subconscious mind helps me out in these moments heh.I usually do a contained form of written diarrhoea, followed by one or two rounds of revision to improve the flow. I then round off by looking for interesting media to insert into the post.

  6. hey that’s great!can you please share some blog lilnks that u say ae very insightful/inspiring?I wanna read them too ^_^My style of blogging… hmmm..I just share stuffs that I know best.For me, blogging is an art, something like making short films.

  7. Try a little music… confirm will bring some insightful thoughts.

  8. faithful lurker, rare commenter. :)my blog style is a mix of nerdiness, personal life, and amateur musicianship – and it seems the ones that get the most response are personal life stories because most people can relate to that. as far as deep posts go, though, consider mixing the profound with the silly? i’ve read some blogs that work well that way (eg., SO@24). btw, black is the best color. keep the dress in action.

  9. I often wish I can write as gd as some of the bloggers too but what to do just can’t. I guess can only be natural and simply enjoy the joy of blogging. Which in ur case is juz right. Nice write-up and cl.. ahem dress!

  10. Nice dress. (Trying to hold back my drool. Hahaha)

  11. WOW – 500 huh? Dang. I’ve got a longgggggggg way to go!And very pretty dress!!! And i like black. It’s a staple color!

  12. if i were with u when u got that dress, it’ll b in a different colour…u have too much black lah miss! get something else!!p.s: wear push up bra ;D