Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Learn-To-Cook-Something-New Sunday: Beef Rendang

In my quest to learn to cook, I realised that I cook too much non-Asian food and very rarely do I cook something that originates from my own community. So I decided to learn a traditional dish that is usually served on Eid and that is beef rendang. The recipe is posted here.

There are many variations to the dish and my mum taught me the simpler version. It was easy to make actually and for the first time in a along time, my mum told me the approximate amount of each ingredient instead of just ‘a little of this’ or ‘some of that’ because that just makes my inner scientist chomp at the bit.

So anyway, it turned out rather well; spicy and thick, just the way I like it. I was thinking of doing a local dessert next week. Wish me luck.

Technorati Tags: ,

Comments are closed.