Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Children’s Day

Remember the song we used to sing during this day celebrating the all the children? It’s been more than a decade since I last sang it. Shows how old I really am right? Anyway, I’ve always thought it was a fun song to sing and I remember really enjoying singing it during assembly. Here’s the updated version of the song.

They changed the overall feeling of it and I can’t relate to it at all. It doesn’t even give me a hint of nostalgia. They even changed the lyrics. The original lyrics as well as the English translation for the song can be found here.

I remember back in the day, the Children’s Day celebration was the most awaited day in my school year. It’s the day where you spend most of the day not studying, have sporting events if you’re in the lower primary, you get loads of yummy goodies and little trinkets from the teachers and the best of all, the performance by our teachers.

In one of the years, the teachers did a play where they were all students of the school. It was strange but at the same time to see them in a larger version of our school uniforms. My form teacher was supposed to be a prefect and in his trademark fashion, he flipped the bird to all the school rules and purposefully sipped cola in front of us. He’s one of the best teachers I’ve ever had.

Sigh. Those were the days. It was one of the best times of my life.

What were your fond memories of Children’s Day?

Technorati Tags: ,

Comments are closed.