Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.


1 Comment

Intro To Shakespeare

Back in high school when we had to do Macbeth for literature, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I should because I felt that it was so dull. Reading the play was hard because not only was it not easy to understand what was being said but also, you can’t tell what the character was emoting. The teacher showed us the video of the play of course, but how much can you learn from watching the play for only half an hour. Trying to watch and listen to what was being said when you’re in a class of forty people, where not all of them are interested in learning, was definitely not easy. So after high school, I refused to have anything to do with literature.

It took me more than a decade and a fanfiction to get me interested in trying to read works by Shakespeare again. I think I’ve mentioned before that I’d flipped through a copy of Macbeth and was surprised to find it not that difficult to read anymore. Even though I have yet to get my own copy of his plays, I did have this urge to watch the plays.

Being a YouTube addict sort of helped. I managed to track down Kenneth Branagh’s movie adaption of Much Ado About Nothing, which can be found here. Watching the movie and watching them act out the play, after reading it made so much of a difference. For once I understood the play, not that I didn’t understand Macbeth since it was beaten into our heads for two years, but I digress.

I thoroughly enjoyed it. It makes me wish that we could have actually watched the play and then discussed it. Provided of course, that everyone was willing to read the play at home and then participate in the discussion. I would think that out of a class of forty, maybe less than 10 would be willing to do it and at that age, I don’t think I would be one of them. At that point of time, I was a band geek and not the book geek that I am now.

Anyway, what I really wish right now is that I have someone/people to discuss this movie/play with me. i want to discuss the themes, the motivation of the characters and how hot Keanu Reeves is, especially when he’s the bad guy. It would be fun.

Technorati Tags: , ,

