Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.


Sneak(ers) Show

Here’s some pictures of my new shoes!


Of course, now I feel like getting at least one other hi-top in a solid colour, may be green. I shouldn’t of course but it doesn’t hurt to look.

Anyway, the sneakers make me feel like I’m in high school again. Back then, they could only be white due to the school regulations. My first non-white sneakers were a nice bright shade of red. Despite the fact that my mum kept referring them to Ronald McDonald’s shoes, I loved them very much. The soles have holes now and it’s too slippery to wear them out so they’ve been retired. The only other pair of sneakers I have are cheap blue ones that I leave in the office, to wear to the lab when I go to work in flip flops. I’ve never had hi-tops before so wearing them feels strange and alien, though I know I’ll get used to it soon.

My mum calls sneakers cat shoes as the only brand of sneakers they had when she was in her teens was the Cat brand. I guess it fits because you can literally sneak up to people and scare them, even if you don’t mean to, just like a cat. They’re that quite, if you know how to walk quietly that is.

As much as I love sneakers, I learned the hard way that you can’t wear them when it’s raining outside because they’re slippery. There were more than a few times when I saw the floor rushing up to meet my face as I lost my footing. Fortunately, most of the time I either regain my balance or manage to grab hold of something/somebody. Those few times I did fall were very painful indeed. It’s sunny outside right now but with the weather being erratic these past few days, I just hope that it doesn’t rain. My shoes aren’t waterproof or slip proof.

Technorati Tags: