Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Family Getaway

It’s been a rather long time since my family had an outing for just the five of us so we readily agreed when my mum suggested that we go to JB for two days on Wednesday, for a little shopping. We didn’t actually do much shopping but it was definitely a gastronomical experience.

We had lunch at Kenny Roger’s Roasters at one of the malls and the service was disappointing. They were severely under-staffed the food wasn’t that great. I doubt we’ll ever go back there again. I think that I could make better roast chicken than that, though their pasta salad was nice.

Near our house is a wonderful, quaint shop that sells authentic Thai food. They’ve got the best Tom Yam I’ve ever had outside of the house (the best being my dad’s). However, the shop was closed for two weeks for renovations so we went to the shop at the other end of the row instead. The cook for that shop was previously working in the other shop so the menu is relatively the same. It even tasted almost the same. The food was so good that my middle sister was full the point of almost being comatose.

For brunch the next day, my dad took us to this shop that reportedly made the most unique breakfast menu.

They had these little huts where you can enjoy your meal, sitting cross-legged on the floor.

I had the traditional breakfast porridge which came with an assortment of side dishes; salted egg, fried peanuts and boiled watercress to name a few. To complete the meal I had my ice cold Milo. You see that bowl with the bones sticking up? That’s is a my dad’s favourite, bone soup. Tasty stuff but it’s an acquired taste. And the bone marrow, yummy!

So, my palate has been having a wonderful two days chowing down on great food, though I think the tummy is starting to protest a little. It’s going to be a while until I do this again but I definitely had a great time.

Comments are closed.