Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Fruit And Meat Anyone?

I missed yesterday’s posting so I guess I’m out of the running for the NaBloPoMo prize draw then. Sigh…. so near,yet it slipped through my fingers. Oh well.

I tried the recipe that I got from DC today and it turned out alright. On the first night that I was in Brisbane, DC made Apple Chicken for dinner. When she told me what she was planning to make for diner, I looked at her strangely and thought to myself, meat and fruits don’t really go very well but she definitely proved me wrong. It was totally different from anything that I’ve ever tasted; savoury yet sweet. When I came back and told everyone what I had, they had the exact same reaction I did, so I decided to prove them wrong.

Here’s the recipe:

2 green apples, diced
2 red apples, diced
1 onion, diced
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon powder
2 cubes of chicken stock
1 whole chicken
some cornstarch diluted in water
salt
pepper
butter

Melt 6 tablespoons of butter in a pan and fry the onion until translucent. Add the apples and the cinnamon powder. Crumble one of the chicken stock cubes into the pan and stir until apples are slightly caramelised. Add pepper to taste. Set the cooked apples aside.

Clean the chicken and pat dry. Rub butter onto the chicken, making sure that its thoroughly covered. Sprinkle some salt and pepper and rub onto the chicken. Spoon cooked apples into the chicken cavity and once full, pin it shut with toothpicks. Roast the chicken in the oven (200°C) for 45 minutes to an hour, depending on the size of the chicken. Place the rest of the apples into a separate pan and bake it in the oven in the last 10-20 minutes that of the chicken cooking time.

Once the chicken is cooked, collect the oil and juices that have collected in the pan and set aside for the sauce. Melt another 2-3 tablespoons of butter in a pan and add the chicken juices. Crumble the other chicken stock cube into the pan. Add pepper to taste and a tablespoon or two of the cooked apples for some crunch. Add the cornstarch to thicken the sauce and you’re all done.

So there you have it. My chicken turned out alright but my mum said that she preferred if it was with chilli while my carnivorous cousins think that meat and fruit shouldn’t be together at all. To each his own.

Good luck!

Comments are closed.