Oh Look, Krill!

Oh don't worry. Whales don't eat clownfish, they eat krill.

Revelations

Events of today made me realise that having a maid in the house has made me clumsy, shy, unsure of what to do and almost incompetent in the kitchen. I’ve grown so accustomed to having someone else do the chores that I’ve almost forgotten how to do them myself. My mum always said that a woman needs to know her way around the kitchen and I agree, but today was not a shining example of that.

I want to say that I was caught of guard by the flurry of activity and the quick, swift way everything was done but that would just be an excuse. It’s not like I’ve never been a kitchen helper during a function before but I guess I felt a little awkward trying to get used to a different way of doing things, though I think that might just be another excuse.

I don’t want shame my family and make everyone think that my mum did a bad job of teaching me how to be a proper woman/future life partner/wife. That would be the worst insult to anyone, ever, to say that their parents did a bad job of raising them. So, I need to suck it up and get over feeling awkward and get used to the change since if you don’t change, you just stagnate and that’s never healthy. I know that in time I will be more comfortable but in the mean time, I just have to try harder and make myself useful.

Comments are closed.